Reflection on EDTECH 541

 

When I enrolled in EDTECH 541, I was really looking forward to this course.  The title of the course, Integrating Technology in the Classroom seemed to be straight forward and exactly what every teacher in the current era aims for.  How do we utilize technology into the classroom in a seamless fashion.  We want the technology to be a part of the curriculum, instruction, and practice, not just an extra element to make things unwieldy or confusing.   I previously worked in a school system that did not put much emphasis on technology.  The wi-fi signal in that building could only support four or five users per classroom at a time, so there was no encouragement to try utilizing the technology on a regular basis when students and teachers ended up frustrated.  In my new position, the school is a BYOT that wants technology to be used almost every day.  I really needed to learn quickly about what types of technology are available and developing in order to offer some consistency with the technology implementation in other classrooms with teachers who had been practicing with integration for years.  I wanted to enhance learning and differentiation and motivation in the electronic-driven school system.

When I read the weekly task list for the course, I frequently had a blank stare on my face wondering how to make these ideas work in an Algebra 1 classroom.  Each assignment challenged me to find new tools and forced me to be more creative.  I have used several of the projects and lessons that I created this semester with my current Algebra 1 students.  The implementation of my creations gave me a great sense of pride.  I was able to observe the relative advantage of each tool and the strategies to make it the most effective lesson possible.  My teaching has gotten more variety throughout the semester.  Used to be “the worksheet lady” since I did not have reliable access to technology.  The timing of this course along to match with the start of  a new job in a BYOT setting was very helpful to force me to jump right into an unknown situation instead of just dipping my toes into a new opportunity.  The following list shows the many projects that I completed and how they align to the AECT standards.

AECT Standard 1 (Content Knowledge): Candidates demonstrate the knowledge necessary to create, use, assess, and manage theoretical and practical applications of educational technologies and processes.
All of the projects completed for this course fell into the Using and Evaluating categories of AECT Standard 1.  I researched the technology, assessed the relative advantages, and selected the tools to use with my students in an Algebra 1 classroom.
Relative Advantage Chart
Instructional Software Lesson Plan
Software Support Tools
Interactive Presentation
Google Spreadsheet Lesson Plan
Google Docs Lesson Plan
Video Enhanced Lesson PlanInternet Enriched Lesson Plan
Social Networking Lesson Plan
Game-Based Learning Lesson Plan
Math & Science Learning Activities
Language Arts Learning Activities
Art, Music, & PE Learning Activities
Adaptive and Assistive Technology

AECT Standard 2 (Content Pedagogy): Candidates develop as reflective practitioners able to demonstrate effective implementation of educational technologies and processes based on contemporary content and pedagogy.
While completing projects for this course, I had to consider the pedagogy behind the options and how to implement the technologies.  Sometimes, the application to an Algebra 1 classroom can be challenging, but the pedagogy helped me see how technology can help with some abstract concepts.
Relative Advantage Chart
Instructional Software Lesson Plan
Software Support Tools
Interactive Presentation
Google Spreadsheet Lesson Plan
Google Docs Lesson Plan
Video Enhanced Lesson PlanInternet Enriched Lesson Plan
Social Networking Lesson Plan
Game-Based Learning Lesson Plan
Math & Science Learning Activities
Language Arts Learning Activities
Art, Music, & PE Learning Activities
Adaptive and Assistive Technology

AECT Standard 4 (Professional Knowledge and Skills): Candidates design, develop, implement, and evaluate technology-rich learning environments within a supportive community of practice.
I did a self-reflection to consider the various ways that I use technology in my classroom, obstacles that I encounter, and ways that I can overcome those challenges in order to develop a better classroom community.
Relative Advantage Chart
Blog

AECT Standard 5 (Research): Candidates explore, evaluate, synthesize, and apply methods of inquiry to enhance learning and improve performance.
My classroom generally runs on direct instruction.  While researching for this course and creating lessons, I have some ideas about how to incorporate student driven lessons or activities into my classroom so that I can offer a variety of experiences to target the different learning styles of my students.
Relative Advantage Chart
Instructional Software Lesson Plan
Software Support Tools
Interactive Presentation
Google Spreadsheet Lesson Plan
Google Docs Lesson Plan
Video Enhanced Lesson PlanInternet Enriched Lesson Plan
Social Networking Lesson Plan
Game-Based Learning Lesson Plan
Math & Science Learning Activities
Language Arts Learning Activities
Art, Music, & PE Learning Activities
Adaptive and Assistive Technology
Resources for Integrating Technology

In the future, I want to refine my evaluation of relative advantages and be sure to implement technology only when it will enhance the lesson, not just because my school says that I should be using technology.  My teaching style can be described as Instructivist; that is what I am familiar with from my own schooling and what I was able to do in the past with limited resources.  I hope that I can continue to practice and explore various technology options to make my classroom follow more Constructivist ideas for the students to discover on their own as well as to incorporate Connectivist theory by teaching students how to find tools that will allow them solve problems on their own.

 

 

Leave a Reply

